Home   BOM


The Board of Management is the school committee charged with the day-to-day management of the school. Under the Education Act of 1998 all schools must have a Board of Management and the functions and responsibilities of the Board are laid out in documents published by the Department of Education and Science.

The Board of Management has eight members and is appointed for a four-year term. Two are nominated by the patron body which in our case is Educate Together; two are elected by the parents, one male and one female, one is elected by the teaching staff and the School Principal is always a Board member. Two further members are co-opted to act as community representatives. 

The members of the NKETNS Board of Management are as follows:

 Gemma CarrollPatron’s Nominee and Chairperson
Jenny McCarthySchool Principal
Ronan O’ReillyPatron’s Nominee
Lisa FreemanParents’ Nominee
Shane O’NeillTeachers’ Nominee
Matt RyalsParents’ Nominee
Marylee WallCommunity Representative
Ronan BalfeCommunity Representative

Agreed Report

The Board of Management most recently met on the 29th May 2024.

The members of the Board of Management completed Child Protection Training for Board members which was delivered by a facilitator from the Child Abuse Prevention Programme.

The Board thanked the PTA for their continued fundraising efforts.